December 2010

SWGS sweep to victory at Schools Biathlon Qualifier (December 2010)

13 SWGS pupils took part in the National Schools Biathlon Qualifier held at Bath University.

The competition requires each competitor to both swim and run as fast as possible over a stated distance - the swim being 100metres and the run 1,000metres - points are then awarded on a sliding scale based around an optimum time. All SWGS girls performed exceptionally well on the day which was very cold and windy and the results were fantastic!

The year 8 team of Sarah Croager, Becky Esdaile, Georgie Holman and Phoebe Kalik produced personal bests in the run and in the swim to gain a well deserved 2nd place on the podium with Phoebe coming individually 3rd overall and Georgie taking 11th place with Becky 14th - this puts the girls at the top of the ranking list with an excellent chance of going through to the semi finals. Sophie Kalik, SWGS only year 9 competitor, produced a magnificent pb in the run to take her to first place before the swim - she then swam a pb to hold on to a great win for the school and a place in the semi - final.

The gauntlet was cast and our year 10 girls rose to the challenge with a tremendously impressive run by Bryony Osbourn to win the best run medal in her year. Her team mates, Hannah Croager and Ellie Wolverson, followed up with an equally impressive swim which saw Ellie win and the team take 1st position with Ellie on her debut taking 4th place individually.

The year 11 girls - Nicole Esdaile, who had been off with a chest infection all week, produced a gutsy running performance coming fourth to Louise Davidson, who ran a personal best finishing second to Emily Kalik, who produced a season's best time of 3.18secs ensuring the team went into the swim in a very strong position. They came home in fantastic fashion with Nicole 1st in a time of 1.04, Louise hot on her heels in 2nd -1.05 and Emily 3rd in 1.07. The girls all took podium finishes - Emily 1st Louise 2nd and Nicole 3rd!

The team were delighted to win and produced one of the highest scores in the competition of 6444 points! Finally our two year 12 &13 girls, Gabriella Pountney and Alexandra Richards, produced another excellent performance for SWGS finishing 4th and 7th respectively, with great personal achievements across the two events.

Everyone is now looking forward to the semi-finals with the chance of going on to Crystal Palace for the Championships next year! (Mrs Darby)

Leweston Cross Country Relays (December 2010)

Superb all round performances from all the students listed at The Leweston Cross Country relays this year.

The Junior Girls finished 4th overall and the combined Inter/ Senior A and B teams finished 1st and 2nd overall.

Well done girls and thanks once again to the continued commitment and dedication of Mr Jeff Butt.

Senior                                   Junior
Imogen Wolsey                      Phoebe Kalik
Amy McDermott                     Rachel Lang
Katie Newsome                      Georgie Holman
Florence Powell                      Becky Esdaile
Bryony Osbourn
Emma Clarke
Lizzie Clifford
Sophie Kalik
Vicky James
Charlotte Williamson
Lucy Butt
Hannah Croager

(Mrs Darby)

South Wilts Students Reach National Finals (December 2010)

Following a gruelling regional round of the ESSA National Cross Country Competition at Leweston School, the Intermediate Girls qualified in 2nd Place behind Millfield to win their place at the National Finals in Northumbria ( Alnwick Castle to be precise, the location of Hogwarts) to be held on 26th March 2011. The girls have trained consistently hard to reach this prestigious event which showcases the best school cross country runners in the country. Well done and good luck girls. Go for it!! Well done also to the newly formed Junior team who all ran to the best of their ability, with most of them competing against girls in the year above.

A special big thank you from all of the girls and the PE dept must also go to the inspirational coaching and dedication of Jeff Butt for once again helping our girls reach their potential.

National Finalists 2010/11

Sophie Kalik, Lizzie Clifford, Bryony Osbourn, Emma Clarke, Hannah Croager and Fiona Defty. (Mrs Darby)  

Created: Monday, January 17, 2011 | School News Page

Eco Schools
South West academic Trust
ESafety Mark
International School Award
Healthy School